Zan Wimberley

photo blog by susannah wimberley

A touch of class – tough titties

leave a comment »

As a part of an exhibition for Sydney Design Festival, the ladies from http://www.toughtitties.com.au gave 20 female creatives a giant doylie as a canvas and posed the question ‘is old new again?’.

I decided to use an image of Clare Bowen on the doylie, as it seemed to me that a classic beauty is timeless, and would fit in well, particularlly considering that the next part of the process would be difficult.

Over a number of nights, I painted the doylie with light sensitive emulation, before printing the negative of the digital image of clare onto acetate, and using an overhead projector to expose the doylie.

I then used a large tub to develop and fix the image, before leaving it to dry and fix.

Cheers Alex & Lou from Tough Titties for having me as a part of the exhibition and Clare for being a good sport when she got a text explaining that I had printed her head onto a giant doylie and that it was going to be exhibited.

Written by susannahwimberley

September 20, 2011 at 11:48 pm

Leave a comment